The interest in Castro de Viladonga started in 1911 in the wake of casual finding of a torque (nowadays in Lugo’s Provincial Museum). This fact and its imposing presence in the landscape of northeast piedmont of A Terra Chá led to the beginning of the archaeological excavations in early ’70ies of the last century. This work, developed in successive campaigns along all that decade, allowed to discover a big number of habitational structures in the croa of the hillfort as well as the exhumation of an abundant and varied material culture chronologically located in its bigger part in II an V centuries A.D., in galaico-roman culture.
Archaeological work, resumed from early ‘80ies, enlarged the knowledge about the site with application of an archaeological methodology more updated: from then, monographic studies of the materials were made.
Nowadays, the investigation still goes on with the opening of new excavation areas and, especially from 2008, with interventions for consolidation and restauration of the exhumed structures and the improvement of accessibility.